Ipod Music Selections

Yesterday I was flying back from Boston in the middle seat of an emergency exit row which was not horrible by any means considering the extra leg room available.  Gone is my coveted United 1K Frequent Flyer status.  Ah, the good old days.  Upgrades, priority boarding, snacks that you don’t have to pay for, etc.  And while that might not seem like much….if you have never been a road warrior, let me tell you (sadly enough), it is those little things can make or break your travel day.

So, I ended up sitting next to a woman on my right who was maybe a professor or dean at Stanford University for the Engineering department.  How did I know this?  She had her business card taped into the inside of her Kindle case.  I couldn’t make out the details because it was sideways and had a lot of words in fine mouse print but she seemed important.

She was a caucasian female, light brown hair, fair skin, 5’4 ish, maybe 115 lbs, and I would guess in her late 50’s, maybe even early 60’s.  Quiet and unassuming.  And she didn’t get up once!  Which I found pretty impressive for being in the window seat of a cross country flight while having 2 cups of coffee.

Throughout the 6 hour flight, she rotated back and forth from reading her Kindle to a super advanced very large Suduko book all while listening to her Ipod through some old headphones that clearly didn’t have any noise reduction technology back in the day. At least not for those who aren’t actually wearing them.   She also happened to be listening to her music at full volume capacity.  Just ask the guy on the left of me as well as the rows in front and behind us who often were looking around to see where the music was actually coming from.

But she clearly either didn’t know or didn’t care. Feet tapping, head bopping, all while multitasking with other brain functioning requirements that needed some level of concentration.  I mean, reading?  Come on, I can’t even listen to loud music and read at the same time.  It’s like a brain scramble for me.  But I figured she likely had a very big brain working for Stanford and all so must be able to handle it.  And since she was really enjoying herself, I didn’t have the heart to interrupt her.

Now, here is the best part and what I found most fascinating about the whole thing….do you want to know what she was listening too? Guess!  Oh, never mind.  You will never guess.  Check this out!!  LMFAO, Pitbull, Usher, Enrique, J.Lo basically anything with a Top 40 pulsating dance club beat that honestly all starts to sound the same once they are played back to back for a couple hours.  I personally thought this was totally awesome because I would have never in a million years bet that type of music was on her preferred play lists!  And she was loving it.  She was actually going through her different playlists and selecting each of these songs by hand.  Good for her!  See, I actually didn’t really mind it too much because I like that kind of music as well.  Well, except the repeat part.

So, as I sat there and contemplated this oxymoron-ish experience , it struck me as a good little reminder from the universe, Don’t judge a book by its cover.  🙂  You never know what is actually on someone’s Ipod until you listen to it.

We never talked during the flight yesterday but I wanted to send her a little shout out today..Thanks for the jam session my exit row sister!  Nice flying with ya! 🙂

This entry was posted in The Writer and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Ipod Music Selections

  1. bossymoksie says:

    Hey! I’ve nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award. It’s yours! And welcome to the winners circle. Check it out.
    http://bossymoksie.wordpress.com/2012/06/11/all-i-do-is-win-win-win/

  2. Andrew says:

    I love looking at peoples Ipods. It’s always surprising. So of my best friends surprised the heck out of me from what I found. Great stuff.

  3. BMassa says:

    That is absolutely fabulous – with a capital “F…. of the good kind!! I once hired a guy that I met on an airplane and you are SO right on… you can never judge a book by it’s cover. Loved that she was exercising so many brain muscles along the way with a nice dose of pop music. Hitting the right and left brains along the way!!

Leave a Reply

